Construction was started on the Dillon County Courthouse in 1910 and was completed in 1911. It is one of the few remaining examples of Beaux Arts Style, which incorporates the classical French and American styles of architecture. The architect was William E. Edwards. The builder was J. A. Jones. The three-story building with a basement has been completely renovated. This was a four year project which was completed in 1999. This is a must-see historical building.
The top floor hallway is appropriately named the Dillon County Hall of History and is a very interesting display, consisting of over forty pictures depicting the county history from its beginning in 1910 to the present. The original hand-made county flag, which at the time it was made was the only county flag in the nation, is on display. Flags that have flown over South Carolina since the beginning of statehood are also on display.
The Courthouse is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Tours can be made of the Courthouse by appointment.